Gateway to the Classics: Japan: Peeps at History by John Finnemore
Japan: Peeps at History by  John Finnemore

Front Matter

[Book Cover]


A warrior of the Ashikaga period.

[Title Page]

[Copyright Page]



Periods of Japanese History

I. The Legendary Emperors

Names and dates are here uncertain. The period probably ranges from 660 b.c. to a.d. 645: It is supposed that the Empire was founded by Prince Jimmu Tenno about 660 b.c.

II. The Puppet Emperors

This period ranges from a.d. 645 to a.d. 1186. During this time up to a.d. 1050 the Fujiwara family were in a position of great authority, and exercised the powers of government. After them the Taira family rose to prominence. The Taira were crushed by the Minamoto, whose chief Yoritomo became Shogun, or acting Emperor, in 1186.

III. Mikado and Shogun (or Tycoon)

This period lasted from a.d. 1186 to a.d. 1868. The Mikado was always the Emperor, but the Shogun governed on his behalf. The Shogunate was usually held by the chief of a great family.

Dynasty of Minamoto Shoguns, 1186-1219.
Dynasty of Shadow Shoguns (Hojo regents), 1220-1334.
Dynasty of Ashikaga Shoguns, 1334-1573.
Dynasty of Usurping Shoguns, 1573-1603.
Dynasty of Tokugawa Shoguns, 1603-1868.

IV. The Modern Emperors, 1868 to Present Day

The Emperor regains his ancient power, and the Shogunate is abolished.

 Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Home 
Copyright (c) 2005 - 2020   Yesterday's Classics, LLC. All Rights Reserved.