Gateway to the Classics: The Children of the New Forest by Captain Marryat
The Children of the New Forest by  Captain Marryat

Look inside ...
[Purchase Book]
The Children of the New Forest
by Frederick Marryat
An engaging adventure story set in England during the time of the Civil War when King Charles was deposed and the Roundheads were vying with the Cavaliers. The central characters are the four children of staunch Royalist Colonel Beverley killed in battle while fighting for King Charles. Through the efforts of aged forester Jacob Armitage, the children escape the burning of their ancestral home and take up residence with him in his cottage in the New Forest. As his 'grandchildren' they take eagerly to the peasant life and learn to provide for themselves by using their wits. The pitfall they build to trap cattle catches more than they bargain for, leading to one adventure after another. Against all odds they deftly maneuver through the treacherous landscape of the times, eventually recovering their family estate.  Ages 9-12
351 pages $14.95   

Table of Contents

Cavaliers and Roundheads
The Burning of Arnwood
From Mansion to Cottage
Pitching In
Stalking Deer and Catching Cows
An Anniversary Feast
The Pitfall
Edward Meets the Intendant
The Death of the Old Forester
On Their Own
A Surprise in the Pitfall
A Chance Encounter
A Narrow Escape
Lost in the Forest
Caught in the Act
Another Cavalier Orphan
Edward Is Offered a Position
Secretary to the Intendant
A Visit to the Cottage
Battling over Treasure
In London
On the Road North
Into Battle and Home Again
Search Parties Abroad
The Sisters Leave Home
Edward Departs Abruptly

 Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Home 
Copyright (c) 2005 - 2023   Yesterday's Classics, LLC. All Rights Reserved.