Gateway to the Classics: The Red Indian Fairy Book by Frances Jenkins Olcott
The Red Indian Fairy Book by  Frances Jenkins Olcott

Look inside ...
[Purchase Book]
The Red Indian Fairy Book
by Frances Jenkins Olcott
A choice collection of Native American myths and legends carefully selected from many sources. Most are nature stories telling about birds, beasts, flowers, and rocks of our American meadows, prairies, and forests. The tales are arranged according to the seasons with several stories offered for each month of the year. There are some for early spring, when the maple sap mounts, and the arbutus blooms under the snow; for later spring, when the birds nest, and the wild flowers blow; for summer, with its heat, storms, fishing, and canoeing; for autumn with its corn, nuts, and harvest feast; for winter, with its ice, snow, and adventures. A comprehensive subject index for use by teachers and storytellers is included.  Ages 8-12
304 pages $14.95   

Table of Contents

Front Matter

Back Matter

The Spring Beauty
Little Dawn Boy and the Rainbow Trail
The Meadow Dandelion
Little Burnt-Face
The Elves
Woodpecker Gray
The Kind Hawk
The Boy Who Became a Robin
Legend of the Violet
The Star and the Water Lilies
Why Wild Roses Have Thorns
How the Fairies Came
The Summer Fairies
Leelinau the Fairy Girl
The Sky Elk
Legend of the Morning Star
The Firebird
The Star Bride
Ahneah the Rose Flower
Legend of Niagara and the Great Lakes
How the Hunter Became a Partridge
How Partridge Built the Birds' Canoes
The Noisy Chipmunk
The Wind-Blower
The Silver Brooches
How Indian Corn Came into the World
The Spirit of the Corn
The Little Corn-Bringer
The Nuts of Jonisgyont
Little Owl Boy
The Chestnut Kettle
The Ugly Wild Boy
Pitcher the Witch and the Black Cats
Coyote the Hungry
Coyote the Proud
The Magic Windpipe
The Birds' Ball-Game
Why the Turkey Gobbles
The Land of the Northern Lights
The Poor Turkey Girl
The Mud Pony
The Wishes
The Mikumwess
The First Pine Trees
The Hidden Waters
Jowiis and the Eagles
The Boy in the Jug
The Brother and Sister
The Snow Man
The Rolling Rock
The Boy in the Moon
The Discontented Rock
The Singing Maidens
The Star Maiden
How Maple-Sugar Came
Mishosha or the Enchanted Sugar-Maple
How Master Rabbit Went Fishing
The Woodpecker Girls
Bad Wild Cat
How the Four Winds Were Named
Legend of the Trailing Arbutus

 Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Home  |  Next: Front Matter
Copyright (c) 2005 - 2023   Yesterday's Classics, LLC. All Rights Reserved.