Gateway to the Classics: Countryside Rambles by William Samuel Furneaux
Countryside Rambles by  William Samuel Furneaux

Look inside ...
[Purchase Book]
Countryside Rambles
by W. S. Furneaux
A guidebook to the four seasons, calling attention to many of the more striking objects and phenomena which reveal themselves to the country rambler. The awakening of nature dominates the discussion in Spring. In Summer the focus shifts to the various habitats—woods, hedgerows, wastes, streams, heaths, bogs, marshes, fields, and meadows—and what can be found there. Fruits and seeds and preparation for winter are the main topics in Autumn. The condition of plants, animals, and trees in Winter round out the year. The 171 illustrations depicted in 46 Plates at the beginning of the original book are separated in this edition and inserted as individual illustrations where they are referenced in the text.  Ages 13-18
255 pages $12.95   

Table of Contents

The Awakening of Nature
Opening Buds
The Reappearance of Hibernating Creatures
Wayside and Hedgerow
How Plants Climb
The Woods in Spring
Fields and Pastures
The Woods in Summer
Waysides and Wastes
By the Stream
Over Heath and Moor
Round Bog and Marsh
Fields and Meadows
In the Woods
Autumn Tints
The Fall of the Leaf
Autumn Fruits
The Dispersion of Seeds and Fruits
How Animals Prepare for the Winter
Fields and Hedgerows in Autumn
The Winter Condition of Plants
Trees in Winter
Winter Buds
Animal Life in Winter
Winter Flowers
Frost and Snowstorm

Turn the last 26 entries in this Table of Contents into clickable links by joining Gateway to the Classics.

Copyright (c) 2005 - 2020   Yesterday's Classics, LLC. All Rights Reserved.